

July 14, 2015

The Honorable John Thune Chairman Senate Committee on Commerce Science, and Transportation 560 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Bill Nelson Ranking Member Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation 560 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Thune and Ranking Member Nelson:

On behalf of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA), our 1,500 member agencies, and the millions of Americans that depend on public transportation, I write to commend the Committee's hard work to advance comprehensive rail legislation that attempts to address safety, funding needs, Amtrak enhancements, improved project delivery, and other important rail policy issues.

We fully support the inclusion of a rail title within any broader surface transportation authorization package considered in the Senate. And, if a multi-modal or freight discretionary grant program is included within an authorization proposal, we urge you to retain the eligibility for projects that advance transit, rail, and other intermodal initiatives.

Lastly, as APTA's commuter railroads are committed, as a national safety priority, to implementation of Positive Train Control (PTC) on all commuter and intercity passenger rail lines, we and the entire rail industry are grateful that the Committee has studied, debated, and carefully contemplated the number of complex challenges that railroads are facing as they work to implement their unique PTC systems. We appreciate the Committee's effort to address the current PTC implementation deadline in this legislation.

Thank you for your consideration of the views of the public transportation industry. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Brian Tynan at (202) 496-4897 or <u>btynan@apta.com</u>.

Sincerely,

Michael P. Melaniphy President and CEO

Executive Committee Chair Phillip A. Washington

Vice Chair

Valarie J. McCall

Secretary-Treasurer Doran J. Barnes

Immediate Past Chair Peter Varga

Members-at-Large

Michael A. Allegra Christopher P. Boylan Nathaniel P. Ford Sr. Huelon A. Harrison Angela lannuzziello Paul C. Jablonski Jeanne Krieg Donna P. McNamee Rosa Navejar Keith T. Parker Thomas F. Prendergast Michael A. Sanders Patrick J. Scully Carl G. Sedoryk

President & CEO Michael P. Melaniphy